Latin Grammys Poster

The Latin Grammy Awards

Debuting in 2000, The Latin Grammy Awards honor artistic and technical excellence in the recording arts and sciences. To be considered, a recording must be in Spanish or Portuguese. The winners are chosen by voting members of the Latin Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, which was formed in 1997 by the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences. The creation of both the Latin Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences and the Latin Grammy Awards was an acknowledgement of the huge international appeal of Latin music.

The 1st Annual Latin Grammy Awards ceremony was telecast on CBS from the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California, and the hosts were Gloria Estefan, Andy Garcia, Antonio Banderas, Jennifer Lopez and Jimmy Smits. The show was the first bilingual telecast broadcast on network television during prime time. It was viewed in more than 100 countries. The event’s winners included Santana for Record of the Year (Corazón Espinado); Marc Anthony for Song of the Year, (Dimelo (I Need to Know)); and Shakira for Best Rock Vocal Performance by a Female (Octavo Día).

Beginning in 2005, the Latin Grammy Awards were announced in Spanish after leaving CBS for the Spanish language network Univision. The move was designed to help please the show’s Latin audience after years of trying to balance a mainstream and Latin audience. Since 2005, the Latin Grammy Awards have remained on Univision and the award has become one of the highest honors in Latin music.